Beach Fun

Oh, the humanity!
Oh, the humanity!

When I was a kid we had this Scatch game. It was designed to play on a beach. It’s bright neon colours signifies the zeitgeist of the late 80s.

Yey, Thatcherism!
Yey, Thatcherism!

It was basically just catch with velcro, ultimately pointless and unnecessary. I lapped it up and begged my parents for a set. I played it three times. We holidayed in Britain and beach holidays were not like Baywatch. Between rainy days and temperatures in the high 11s, I played it three times.

There’s loads of ‘fun’ beach items out there; all wackier than the others. I don’t know if it’s because of British holidaying, but any beach item with the word “fun” attached to it seems a bit depressing to me. Like why do you want to play tennis with zany jumbo sized tennis rackets? Your dad’s not Kenny Everett, is he? I often used to see fellow children half drown, clinging on to an inflatable killer whale for dear life. Didn’t look like much fun to me.

I’m biased. I’ve never been much of a beach person. Most of these wacky beach games spend most of the time in winter storage (winter being from mid-September until the last week of June), with the occasional see out in the garden. They always seem like a bit of a waste. Besides, you only need French Cricket when you go to the beach – “Le Grande Jeu de la Mer” as the French most likely don’t say.

My wife came up with this ingenious idea for a beach catch game. You need one ball, and two empty milk cartons, a pair of scissors and no sticky back plastic. I’ll show you a picture and see if you can work out how to make it.

IMGP6611

It serves really well as a catch game and our boys have also been using them in the bath as toys; filling them with water and then unscrewing the top to let the water fall out, much to their infinite delight. I imagine they serve very well as beachside moat-fillers, too.

It’s basically catch, isn’t it? It’s not reinventing the wheel – nor turning it into a zany neon jumbo wheel, neither.

Photo credit: Alvimann

Leave a Reply

